Sometimes you may need to upload a list of records which you want to suppress from ever being sent to from your profile.
There is an easy way of doing this: we call it an __OPTOUT__ list.
This is uploaded in the same way as any other list, except the name of the list tells the Pure360 system that you need all addresses on the list to be unsubscribed.
Uploading your Supression List
All you need to do is put all relevant addresses in a list and upload it with careful attention to the list name in the Pure360 system. This needs to be called __OPTOUT__ ‐ note that there are two underscores either side and that the letters are in capitals.
Once the list is uploaded, the records will be flagged as suppressed and you can delete the list. The act of uploading the list is when the records are changed – the list does not need to remain in the system.
Future deliveries from that profile will not send to these records.
How can I confirm the records have been unsubscribed?
After uploading the list, leave it in the profile for the time being. Go to contacts then search individual contacts. Choose the __OPTOUT__ list from the list name drop‐down and choose email opted in from the status drop‐down.
You should get zero records because everyone on that list has been opted out.
Do I need to use my __OPTOUT__ list at the point of sending a campaign?
No. Everyone will have been suppressed when the list was uploaded. Even when the addresses still appear on other lists, they won’t be sent to. When you look at your reports, you’ll see all of these records in the ‘not sent’ part of the report – they’ll show as ‘previously unsubscribed’.
How many __OPTOUT__ lists can I have in one profile?
You can only have one at a time. As it’s the act of uploading a list that suppresses the files, you can delete the list as soon as it’s on the profile.
Why do opted‐out contacts stay on other lists?
This is simply for your data management – it lets you keep track of recipient behavior and engagement. Anyone on a list who is opted out will be suppressed and will appear in the ‘not sent’ part of each campaign report. You can clean the list at any time to remove opted out and hard‐bounced contacts (see below for how).
For the reasons outlined above, opted out (and hard‐bounced) contacts stay on the lists but won’t be sent to. If you would like to remove them from the lists altogether, simply hit the ‘clean list’ button and confirm on the next screen that they will be removed from the list. They’ll still be suppressed on other lists and future lists uploaded to the profile. Note that you will lose any custom field data associated with those contacts on that list.